Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Vertex Pharmaceuticals | Glassdoor.at

Bewertungen für Vertex Pharmaceuticals

Aktualisiert am 11. Sep 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

316 Bewertungen gefunden

3.6
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
67%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
79%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Vertex Pharmaceuticals CEO Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
Jeffrey Leiden, M.D., Ph.D
151 Bewertungen
  1. „EXCELLENT COMPANY TO WORK FOR”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Buyer in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Competitive salary. Incredible benefits. Free stock options. Perfect Seaport location. State of the art amenities. Wonderful culture and environment to work

    Kontras

    Uncertainty of executive leadership and future pipeline goals

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-05

    Reaktion von Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 9, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. We appreciate the positive feedback.

  2. Hilfreich (4)

    „STOP!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Scientist in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 8 Jahre bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    -Benefits -Pay -Location -Some people are smart and fun to be around

    Kontras

    -Work/life balance STILL non-existent -Required to multitask to ineffiency and burn out -The churn of logistics disables the science -Constant chaos, constant sprint, very disorganized

    Rat an das Management

    To top management: STOP! We.need.more.mid-level.scientists.in.CMC.to.work.here.to.meet.the.timelines.otherwise.slow.them.down! Stop putting CMC management in a bind! Without CMC you have NOTHING to put into the clinic, NOTHING! Hire more full time, mid-level employees at RSL! Why do you think your model works to keep burning people out? It is NOT productive, NOT sustainable, and A COMPLIANCE RISK! Stop making... people stressed out and suffer, causing them to lash out at their direct reports, peers, and their own management!

    Mehr anzeigen
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-12

    Reaktion von Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 16, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. We will make sure that we provide your review to the proper department and will try and improve on what you have pointed out.

  3. Hilfreich (4)

    „Want a life? Don't work here”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Manager in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 10 Jahren bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Benefits, PTO, compensation, location, facilities

    Kontras

    - Some parts of the company work all the time - including Thanksgiving and Christmas. If you're not working nights and weekends, you're "not committed." - Outdated model of needing to see "butts in the chair" despite the craziness this causes employees (who are working around the clock) - Lack of leadership in some functions - Micromanagement from all levels of leadership, yet senior managers are overwhelmed and... can't make decisions - Favoritism

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    None - They're not interested in what the peanut gallery thinks.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-09

    Reaktion von Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 16, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank your for taking the time to write your review. We take feedback very seriously and will make sure yours is provided to the right departments.

  4. Hilfreich (8)

    „All talk, no walk”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - GMDA in Boston, MA

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great salary and benefits: -10%+ yearly bonuses with 20-50% stock awards that vest over 3 years. -4 weeks vacation to start and company shut down between Christmas and New year -$300/month commuter benefit, charitable donation matching, and $125/month student loan payment  -401k is just OK with 100% match for up to 3% and 50% match for an additional 1-3% I am lucky that I work on a team with a manager who is... supportive, empathetic, and reasonable. The people I work closest with are smart, helpful, and generally easy to work with. Like most places, your experience will vary depending on the department and immediate team. Vertex as a whole is extremely successful, and I take pride in working for a company that focuses on rare genetic diseases and research.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Kontras

    All the comments about senior management in GMDA are spot-on. The comment about adding barriers instead of value is particularly accurate. Extra layers of process and review add inefficiencies and confusion. Decision makers are either unresponsive, unreasonable, or can't agree with each other. They also want their hands in every. little. thing.  Vertex talks a big talk about wanting to support its employees, help... them grow, maintain work-life balance, "push decision making down and out" (please), but never follows through. There is a lot of unnecessary pressure and finger-pointing that leads to fear and burnout. They badger and bribe employees to complete an "optional" development plan so that they can say they got 100% participation and claim they did something to support employee development; whether the content of these plans is actually useful is another story. Vertex also talks big about innovation and excellence, but, in my department in particular, opportunities are decided by seniority instead of merit. I am told time and again that I'm ahead of my peers who have been here longer, and yet they get most of the choice projects and growth opportunities. People are ridiculously sensitive about fairness.

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    You can't keep pushing drugs through the clinic at back-breaking speed by having employees work (and re-work) endlessly. You need to get MORE EFFICIENT. Stop changing things at the last minute. Establish clear processes and STICK TO THEM. Listen to your seasoned workers and you might actually get it right the first time. Invest in technology. 

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-24

    Reaktion von Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 3, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for taking the time in posting your review. We take feedback seriously and are working on the issues you wrote about. We will make sure your feedback is sent to the leadership team and HR.

  5. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great Potential, Managers need to support subordinates better!!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Co-Op Student in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Awesome work, great pay, potential for amazing opportunities, some of the most experienced and smart people..

    Kontras

    People here often become tunnel visioned because the strenuous deadline, need more flexibility for actually working efficiently.. Politics is one of the worst things here, can make working here toxic(needs to stop, really!!)

    Rat an das Management

    You have amazing people as managers and people in general, please advice them to be more free in training and shaping entry level and mid level employees for the future. I sincerely believe you can make one of the best institution in every way. Upper Management should focus on efficiently working on one finalized plan/or a limited number of plans and see those through instead of having every other group do... something else entirely. Again, you have amazing people!! give them new responsibilities, give promotions more frequently, help them grow. Hire more fresh minds

    Mehr anzeigen
    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-04

    Reaktion von Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    September 9, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your feedback. We will make sure to send your comments to the proper departments.

  6. „Inspiring company, takes employee happiness seriously”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Research Scientist I in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, stock bonus, company mission

    Kontras

    Low promotion transparency, coffee is not great

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-20

    Reaktion von Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    August 23, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. You are right, we do take employee happiness seriously!

  7. Hilfreich (1)

    „Seems a great place until you've worked there a few months”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Manager 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe weniger als ein Jahr bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals als Vollzeit gearbeitet

    Pros

    Did some good things like Friday drinks, free food and fruit, and a fairly nice working environment, celebrated things like Black History Month and LGBT Month and a pretty good salary

    Kontras

    Poor management, poor communication, WfH was almost non-existent, no flexibility, constantly changing goals and an expectation that you're on 24/7. Holidays without your mobile phone are frowned upon

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-09-02
  8. Hilfreich (9)

    „I Hope Management Sees this...”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymous Employee in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Very supportive company in the community. Brilliant support of the patients who are the #1 in our eyes. I heard there's chance for growth, outside of my department. Pretty good benefits package!

    Kontras

    Can I be honest? My department didn't promote based on achievement and hard work. It was a popularity contest. I've watched people come and go, regardless of their stellar performance and potential. I've seen people with drive and proven delivery sit in the same position for more than a year while others come and get promoted for being in the "in" club. It's very discouraging and HR or UPPER UPPER management... needs to do something about that. You're going to lose a lot of incredible talent, or are losing... You can tell the new employees reviews (< 6 months) vs. the seasoned (> 6 months) based on the happiness factor. There is poor visibility, and no promotions based on merit. Buyer beware....

    Mehr anzeigen

    Rat an das Management

    Give recognition and promotions to those who are driven, deliver results, aren't afraid to fail and learn from it. Not because you're part of the popular group.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-21

    Reaktion von Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    August 23, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    We appreciate you taking the time to post your review. We will make sure to provide your comments to HR and the Executive Committee. Thank you.

  9. Hilfreich (9)

    „Losing their way..”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Ad Research in Boston, MA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 5 Jahren bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Best vacation and equity compensation. Great science and execution. Alway good opportunities with the successful pipeline. Many very smart, talented, dedicated and well intentioned employees.

    Kontras

    Increasingly toxic culture over the past 2 years from bad hires and promotions. Countless long time top employees have departed. Workplace bullying/harassment is a common tactic to get ahead, and seemingly ignored when reported (as not illegal).

    Rat an das Management

    Address workplace bullying with a policy that reflects the long standing knowledge in the field, and take it seriously. A life science company that loses its ethic will fail good employees, patients and shareholders in the long term.

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-13

    Reaktion von Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    August 23, 2019Vertex Pharmaceuticals

    Thank you for your review. We will be sure to pass your comments along to HR and try and resolve this issue in the future.

  10. „Research Scientist II”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karrieremöglichkeiten
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungsebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Research Scientist II in Abingdon, England
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Vertex Pharmaceuticals (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Salary, benefits, science, working atmosphere, people

    Kontras

    The rigid separation of scientific groups without the chance of overlapping

    Vertex Pharmaceuticals2019-08-15
316 Bewertungen gefunden