Arbeitgeberbewertungen für Thrive Market | Glassdoor.at

Bewertungen für Thrive Market

Aktualisiert am 13. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

4.0
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
77%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
91%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
Thrive Market CEO Nick Green
Nick Green
21 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (3)

    „another one bites the dust ...”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Engineer in Marina del Rey, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Thrive Market gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    . Mission based high quality products . Office is somewhat centrally located so the commute from West LA and South LA isn't really bad . Fast paced environment . Talented team . Ample parking

    Kontras

    . The attrition rate especially among long time employees is concerning. Management has tried to spin departures from the company by pulling every trick in the book; sometimes by making positives up and in some cases almost shaming honest hard-working people as underperformers. poor treatment of departing employees who have worked hard is not going unnoticed. . There is a micro management problem and a trust deficit. . Well liked managers who were trying to help address this problem were let go. . Project timelines are unrealistic. If you point out that it's unrealistic, you might be shamed by saying that you're just not up to the task.

    Weiterlesen
    Thrive Market2019-10-14
  2. Hilfreich (1)

    „Awesome company and products - going through some growing pains”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Software Engineer in Los Angeles, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Thrive Market (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I have never worked at another company whose mission and products I believe in so wholeheartedly. There is a task force of employees whose mission is to reach out into the community and find ways that TM can make a bigger impact. Our products are vetted thoroughly and are of really high quality. I make orders all the time - the Thrive Market coconut cream and Primal Kitchen mayos are staples in my pantry. The biggest reason why I’m still here is because of the people. I get to work with an amazing group of smart, hard-working, dedicated experts in their field on the tech floor. I love my immediate team and despite work challenges (tight deadlines, changing requirements, shifting priorities) we manage to sincerely enjoy working together and often get together outside of work. Front end engineers are brought in at early stages of product development and have a lot of say in how a feature will be built. There is genuine collaboration going on between front end engineering, back end engineers, UX and product. The process does not always go smoothly, but at the end of the day, I really enjoy the features we work on and the interaction with my teammates. From a career standpoint, I’ve received a lot of support to learn and grow in my role. Things move fast here so there is no one to necessarily hold your hand, but I’ve had good managers that have helped me come up with a career plan, have supported me along the way and have given me the opportunity to advance. The work pace is fast, but I’ve only worked over the weekend a handful of times - mostly because I wanted to get ahead of projects before the deadline. I prefer a fast-paced environment with flaws over one that moves too slowly (boring!). I’ve gotten every vacation request approved. I’ve taken 2 weeks plus few long weekends here and there. Have also been encouraged to take additional days off in return for an extra push (longer hours) at the end of a project. Managers are flexible with doc appointments and working from home once in awhile as long as you are on top of things and communicative with your team about it. The catered lunches are great - I am totally spoiled. The food is healthy and there is an overabundance of snacks.

    Kontras

    There are often unrealistic deadlines set despite not having finalized specs for projects. Overall, there is a sense that teams are never living up to high expectations from upper management. We are often late before we even begin a project, which doesn’t make for a true sense of accomplishment at the end. I am hopeful that some new managers/directors that have joined the org recently will make significant improvements in this area in the coming months. One can’t deny the number of bad reviews on Glassdoor. Some of them might be disgruntled employees, but to be fair, I do see that upper management does not always handle situations in the best way, which results in a fair number of people leaving TM with a bad taste in their mouth. Might be partly due to some inexperience managing an org this large - I’m not sure. It can be a bit disheartening for employees who really do love working for this company. Benefits could use some improvement - there is no matching 401k % for example. The process for biannual evaluations has changed a number of times since I’ve been here. I’d like to see us stick with one process.

    Weiterlesen
    Thrive Market2019-09-24

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    October 13, 2019VP, People Operations

    First of all, thanks so much for your 3+ years of service at Thrive! We appreciate you sharing your thoughts and a very candid and holistic view of working with us. While we're happy that you love the mission, the great people, collaboration, and our daily catered lunches, we're also aware that we still have room to grow and areas to work on. We are going through some growing pains (like most startups do) and we're always trying to work on areas such as communication, deadline management, and providing a competitive benefits package as a pre-profit company. I appreciate you sharing your feedback so that we can place more focus in these areas as we move forward and continue to mature as a business. Again, thanks for your patience and resilience as we grow. It's the tenacity of Thrivers like you who are helping us towards our mission and we're appreciative of your feedback and review!

    Weiterlesen
  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „Steady work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Inventory Control in Batesville, IN
    Neutrale Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Thrive Market (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Shift bids about every 3 months. Reliable hires with the occasional opportunity to flex off.

    Kontras

    The company is moving toward big scale thinking. They are moving away from everyone being a team and putting in that team effort. ''THRIVER'S'' are becoming just another number on a spreadsheet. Quantity over quality.

    Weiterlesen
    Thrive Market2019-07-24

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    July 28, 2019VP, People Operations

    Thanks so much for sharing your feedback here. I'm sorry to hear that you're experience isn't at the 5 star level that we aspire to. We're working very hard on our plans to grow but we never want that to be at the expense of our Thrivers or profess that quantity over quality is an acceptable standard. Based on our most recent engagement survey results, we'll be investing even more time in communicating our vision, creating opportunities for growth, and spending more time listening to our Thrivers to make the company an employer of choice. If you have specific feedback for our Batesville FC that I can help with, please feel free to email me- amos@thrivemarket.com, as I'd like to hear more of your thoughts so we can improve. Thank you so much for sharing your feedback and your service to Thrive and our members!

    Weiterlesen
  4. Hilfreich (11)

    „Good Bones - Bad Everything Else”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Anonymous Employee 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Neutrale Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe bei Thrive Market gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The idea for Thrive Market is fantastic. Healthy food at affordable prices is a novel idea that comes from a great place. These "bones" are great! Also, free food and snacks is nice.

    Kontras

    But, boy is there a lot of bad to deal with here. Upper management is a poison that slowly degrades the rest of the body (non-upper management) over time. Specifics? Sure. The entire Finance team has turned over in the past year. Many with whom I spoke directly and was told they were leaving due to issues with the executive team and no growth opportunities. This lack of growth opportunities echoes throughout many teams - from Merch Marketing, to Private Label (which also recently lost a few), to the larger Marketing team. Promises are made for growth, but rarely kept. The only time a real raise or real role/career growth is possible is when somebody finally gets fed up and puts in their notice. Then the red carpet is rolled out and they're offered the world. This is an insane way to treat your employees. To their credit, last year, the executive team went through an executive training program. However, these effects were short-lived and the poison continues to spread. My advice I would give to prospective employees reading this review is for you to know that I am not somebody who writes these reviews. I am not somebody who wasn't "good at their job" so they didn't get the growth opportunities they felt they deserved. I am writing this so that you don't fall for the same thing many of us fell for when we were hired. We were sold a bill of goods about how the company was "turning around" and to "ignore Glass Door," but that was years ago and it's still the same thing. Do yourself a favor and don't be blinded by the bones. Look at the body as a whole and make your decision.

    Weiterlesen
    Thrive Market2019-06-26

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    July 15, 2019CEO

    Thanks for sharing this perspective. Since this review offers some strongly worded criticisms of our executive leaders from teams like Finance, Merch, and Private Label, I'd like to personally respond to your feedback. Here are the facts: - Our Chief Financial Officer, Karen Cate, is a three-time CFO who has led teams at some of the most respected mission-driven brands and retailers in the country, including TOMS and Trader Joe's. - Our Chief Merchandising Officer, Julie Johnston, is the former Chief Merchant of drugstore.com and has spent more than 20 years leading eCommerce Merchandising teams. - Our SVP of Private Label, Jeremiah McElwee, ran a $1B division at Whole Foods before joining Thrive and is one of the most beloved OG Thrivers at the company, joining us 5 years ago (before we even launched). Personally, I couldn't be more proud of the diverse and mission-driven team of executives who have chosen to bring their talents to Thrive Market. Are they all perfect? No. Will every person agree with every decision they make all of the time? Of course not. But I know each of them to be good people who care deeply about their teams and are admired and respected for their business acumen as well as their leadership qualities. If I read between the lines, it sounds like your real frustration with Thrive was with your perceived lack of opportunities for career growth and pay increases. Again, while this might have been true for you as an individual, it simply isn’t accurate for the company as a whole. For example, you point out that last year we implemented a leadership program for executives. What you didn’t share is that we extended that same program to all Team Leads - more than 40 people across the company at an investment of over $100,000. For the last two years, we have also run a quarterly leadership course where we've invested more than $1,650 per person for individuals at all levels of the business who have been identified by their managers as strong leaders. More than 60 Thrivers have gone through that program to-date and many have been subsequently promoted. Don't get me wrong: Thrive is not a place where you can get promoted just for showing up. It also isn't a place where you'll get a raise if you're a brilliant jerk. One of the hardest aspects of good leadership is making these kinds of tough people decisions. We don't always get them right, but I can promise you that as leaders, we do everything we can to be fair, transparent, and compassionate. If you feel we fell short in your case, please know that that the entire leadership team and I are open to the feedback. I hope this addresses your concerns - or at a minimum, provides a different perspective for others who might be reading this review. Again, if you (or anyone else) has questions or more feedback on any of the topics above, please don't hesitate to reach out. You can email me directly at nick@thrivemarket.com.

    Weiterlesen
  5. Hilfreich (2)

    „I'm not normally one to leave a review, but I feel like I want to speak up here.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Marina del Rey, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Thrive Market (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    I've worked at Thrive for almost 4 years at this point, and I've reported to a variety of execs, some still here and others long gone. Rightfully so, not everyone fits everywhere forever. The first startup I worked at failed. I've also been part of some successful endeavors including a 'unicorn' billion-dollar IPO. Beyond those extremes, I've worked in some capacity for at least a dozen companies on over a hundred domains either as a consultant or as an employee. So, this isn't my first rodeo. Throughout my career, I've seen a lot of ups and downs, crazy situations, etc... I've seen entire companies implode and whole teams explode. People come and go for all kinds of reasons, many are deeply rooted not in their employer, but in themselves, or the way they see the world. At the end of the day, real leadership requires someone to be a lot of different things, sometimes all at once. Not all these parts are fun, and most are not easy. No one gets this right, 100% of the time. What I can say from direct experience is that Sasha S. and Nick G. are two of the most impressive leaders I've ever worked with. They've taken on an impossible dream, and we're all starting to live and share in that. I've had a hard time finding a company with a mission and trajectory that I can be proud of and put my all into. Thrive is the first company where this is the case, and if it weren't for Sasha and Nick being exactly who they are, none of us would be here today and the service wouldn't be available. I want to ask each person that comes to this site to be sure to put themselves into the shoes of the people they want to criticize before venting or attacking. Truly ask yourself, after earning and paying taxes, saving that capital and identifying a place to invest, would you hire you? Do / did you give it your all? If so, why don't you start your own thing? At least try to take on that kind of challenge in life so you may learn how difficult it can be. No job is perfect or great all the time. Thrive is a great place to work, and it’s getting better and better over time as we succeed at our mission.

    Kontras

    Thrive has its growing pains.

    Thrive Market2019-04-28

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    May 1, 2019VP, People Operations

    First, thanks so much for your 3+ years at Thrive! As you noted in your review, you've seen a lot during your time with us, as well as throughout your professional career, so we appreciate you providing such a holistic perspective. As with most companies that are startups, there are definitely growing pains as you mentioned, but we're glad that you see how much we continue to learn and grow under the awesome leadership of our co-founders. We still have a lot to do on our mission to make healthy living easy and affordable to everyone and we're glad that you're part of the team on this awesome ride. We hope to become the next (and last) 'unicorn' IPO to add to your resume! Thanks again for your amazing review and kind words. Let's continue thriving together for many years to come!

    Weiterlesen
  6. Hilfreich (5)

    „Worse than the recent elections.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Member Service Representative in Los Angeles, CA
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei Thrive Market gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Free food and some software training.

    Kontras

    Nepotism, sexism, ageism. Isms and more. Bullied by multiple managers and the vp of staff.

    Weiterlesen
    Thrive Market2019-05-06

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    May 15, 2019VP, People Operations

    I’m sorry to hear that you didn’t have a good experience working with us. We’re committed to a culture of respect and inclusion and the myriad of great reviews from current employees substantiate that. While we know that we have room to grow as a company, “isms” or bullying of any kind don’t belong, nor are they tolerated at Thrive Market, so your comments as a former employee are a bit concerning. We take a variety of steps including respect, harassment and ethics training, as well as manager coaching, in addition to our Open Door policy, to ensure that all Thrivers enjoy working in an environment that is respectful and fair. Our goal isn’t to minimize your experience or dismiss your feedback. On the contrary, we do look for trends here as an opportunity to make improvements to the company and our employees’ experiences. However, your feedback is a bit of an anomaly. I invite the opportunity for you to reach out to me to discuss your concerns in greater detail by sending an email to glassdoor@thrivemarket.com so we can learn more about your experience. It’s feedback like yours that has allowed us to continue to improve, so we’re genuinely very appreciative to you for sharing your thoughts. We wish you the best in your future career pursuits and we do hope to hear from you!

    Weiterlesen
  7. Hilfreich (3)

    „Great Company, Poor Leadership”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Associate in Marina del Rey, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Thrive Market (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    It's a company of like-minded people, all on a mission to make healthy living easy and affordable for everyone. We're fueled by purpose and driven by passion. We're collaborative and supportive. You don't have coworkers here, you have family and friends. And the free lunch is pretty sweet.

    Kontras

    You see time-and-time again that the wrong people are promoted. Those who over-preform are treated like underdogs, but those deemed as "the favorites" who under-perform are promoted. It's a bit backwards, and you have to FIGHT to be heard.

    Weiterlesen
    Thrive Market2019-04-03

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    April 4, 2019VP, People Operations

    Thanks for your overall 5 star review! We're really happy that you love the mission and you consider our people your family and friends. Your comments about promotions, if true, aren't in line with our values though and we definitely would like to know more to help right the ship. I'd encourage you to speak with your manager about this, feel free to reach out to me personally, or any member of the People Ops team. We definitely don't want anyone who's high performing and a gem feeling like they have to fight to be heard o r that their efforts are going unnoticed!

    Weiterlesen
  8. Hilfreich (2)

    „I absolutely love this company! It's the most ideal company I can work for.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Executive Assistant in Los Angeles, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei Thrive Market als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Aligns with my values - healthy and mission driven Positive work environment Monthly happy hours Meditation room! Mission driven company Daily catered lunches Weekly all hands meeting If you want to work at a company that actually cares about making a great change in the world, Thrive Market is seriously the company to go to. Each step the company makes must align with our values - no compromises.

    Kontras

    New hire process is quick - which isn’t necessarily a good thing. Everyone must go through a proper training to get to know the company (and other new hires!) more

    Weiterlesen
    Thrive Market2019-04-06

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    April 8, 2019VP, People Operations

    Thanks so much for sharing your thoughts and 5 star review here! We appreciate you noting all of the areas that we're excelling in and most importantly, pointing out the areas that we need to improve. We're currently revamping our onboarding and new hire processes and you should expect to see a considerable upgrade in this area soon. And, as you noted, we're passionate about hiring employees that are aligned with our values so you can be assured that will always be our norm. Again, thanks so much for sharing your feedback here! We truly appreciate it.

    Weiterlesen
  9. Hilfreich (2)

    „Thrive Market Is an Incredible Company!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Anonymer Mitarbeiter in Marina del Rey, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei Thrive Market (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Working at Thrive Market has been fantastic across the board. The workplace environment is great! The vibe stays positive, upbeat and friendly. It's great to work around others who share the same passion for our mission of making healthy living easy and affordable for everyone. Thrive Market provides snacks, a lunch program, kombucha and quite a few other perks around the office. Also, the office is located in a great area in Marina del Rey. This is a company where you truly feel your work is valued by your peers and management. Communication about the health of the company and current projects is clearly communicated each week during a 30 minute "All-Hands" meeting. Definitely the best company I have ever worked for!

    Kontras

    At this time, there are no cons that I can provide about working at Thrive Market. My experience has been great from the start.

    Thrive Market2019-03-23

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    March 25, 2019VP, People Operations

    Incredible company!? The best company you've worked for? Awwww. We're blushing! Seriously though, thanks so much for sharing your experience working at Thrive over the past three years here. It's so great to hear that you've had a awesome experience thus far. We're pretty proud of the great team members on our team (like you) and the collective passion for our mission. We're also big advocates of our employees having a voice and being able to make an impact for our members and our communities. As you mentioned, transparency is also important and we appreciate you pointing out our weekly All Hands meetings to keep the lines of communication always open. Along the lines of transparency, please keep sharing your feedback with us. We're always listening, learning, and growing as a team and look forward to you enjoying the ride with us. Thanks again for sharing your thoughts!

    Weiterlesen
  10. „Great place to work at”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Staff Accountant in Los Angeles, CA
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als einem Jahr bei Thrive Market (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great culture, lovely place to spend your work week at, with free lunch and snacks provided. Happy hour and team events with some of the best people you will ever meet. Dog friendly, so if you like patting puppers this is the place for you. With plenty of room for career advancement.

    Kontras

    Transition in the finance department at the moment, but with core employees staying I believe the same great work environment will continue.

    Thrive Market2019-03-15

    Reaktion von Thrive Market

    March 18, 2019VP, People Operations

    Thanks so much for your kind words and for sharing your feedback! We're really proud of our culture and ensuring that everyone works with great colleagues and has the opportunity to grow. We also love our pups at Thrive as you noted! =) As a young company, we're constantly growing, learning new things, and evolving , and we appreciate your optimistic comments around change in our finance team. Change is inevitable, but you can be assured that our commitment to being an employer of choice and maintaining a great work environment will always be a high priority for us! We truly appreciate you sharing your feedback with us. Keep it coming as we're listening and also evolving as a company. The best is yet to come!

    Weiterlesen
114 Bewertungen gefunden