Arbeitgeberbewertungen für GLG | Glassdoor.at

Bewertungen für GLG

Aktualisiert am 21. Okt 2019

Zum Filtern von Bewertungen müssen Sie sich entweder oder .

2.9
SternSternSternSternStern
BewertungstrendsBewertungstrends
41%
Würden einem Freund empfehlen
78%
Befürworten Geschäftsführer
GLG CEO Paul Todd (no image)
Paul Todd
99 Bewertungen
  1. Hilfreich (1)

    „It's all about the people!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Business Development Associate in Austin, TX
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit mehr als 3 Jahren bei GLG (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The people! You are literally surrounded by really smart and genuine people which makes coming to work so easy. There are endless opportunities if you are willing to put in the work and learn from the people around you.

    Kontras

    GLG has experienced a lot of growth and with growth comes changes. Since GLG focuses heavily on hiring associates straight form college, the changes /growth can be difficult.

    GLG2019-10-16
  2. „Great culture!”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Junior Research Associate 
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite bei GLG (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Overall very friendly team environment

    Kontras

    Not a very clear career path

    GLG2019-10-19
  3. Hilfreich (1)

    „Great company”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Project Support Specialist in Austin, TX
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei GLG als Vollzeit

    Pros

    Great people. Easy job

    Kontras

    More assistance with relocating

    GLG2019-10-15
  4. Hilfreich (72)

    „Good, Not Great. You May Just Be a Gopher.”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Research Manager 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Stimmt gegen Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei GLG gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Disclaimer: I worked at GLG in Austin for approximately four years as my second job out of college. I left voluntarily for greener pastures. These are my general opinions of GLG based on my time with the company. Here’s an unbiased, realistic, sneak peek at what GLG is, an evaluation of management, and a brief summary of life at GLG.

    Kontras

    What is GLG? You applied to GLG – congratulations! What is this company though? The website offers an appealingly vague “We bring the power of insight to every great professional decision” and “GLG is the world’s leading platform connecting business to insight.” Okay, sounds nifty. But, what do I do? Well, let’s take a look at the job descriptions. Let’s take a look at “Associate, Financial Planning & Analysis” in New York, NY, United States. That sounds impressive. “This highly visible role will include significant exposure to and interaction with key business stakeholders.” Nice! That’ll look really impressive on my resume! So what type of meaningful, fulfilling, stimulating, and challenging work will you be doing all day? Here’s the most concise way I can convey it: You will diddle on LinkedIn and make cold-calls for approximately 8-10 hours a day. You see, notwithstanding the delusions of many employees and whoever fabricates these job descriptions, you are not a “consultant” or a “researcher.” You will arrive to an empty spot (GLG doesn’t provide desks, private space, or offices to its employees, as it is an “activity-based” format - something they try and sell as being innovative and cutting-edge, but in reality is more cost effective and makes the vast turnover percentages more manageable) and proceed to open your email. You will then have an automated email from a “client” with a “research request.” This will ultimately be some bozo from a hedge fund, private equity firm, or an actual consulting firm telling you that he needs information on a topic – perhaps a business the private equity firm is considering investing in. So what’s your role in this? Well, you won’t be doing any research on the investment opportunity. Nor will you be consulting on any strategies or solutions. No, you will log-in to GLG’s internal database of “experts” – people with actual jobs who use GLG as a way to make quick and easy side money – and use key-words to search for someone who has either worked at the business, or has significant knowledge on the business (think as close to insider-trading you can get before breaking the law). You will then send this person automated emails attempting to organize (i.e., schedule) a phone call between that “expert” and the “client.” That is your job. If you’re unable to find an “expert” on the internal database, then you spend the rest of your day on LinkedIn searching for anyone and everyone who has either worked at the business, or has significant knowledge on the business. You will then begin contacting this person in any manner available to schedule a phone call between him and the client. That’s your responsibility, your job, and your career. There’s nothing more to working at GLG than performing monotonous and trivial tasks. Ultimately, you will be a gopher parading around as if you actually have a fulfilling career. Management I’ll keep this short and sweet – management at GLG is a joke. Not a funny joke like how The Office was before Steve Carell left. But a shockingly incompetent, arrogant, and egotistical joke. If you examine many of the current employees at GLG on LinkedIn, you’ll see quite a few “Vice Presidents” of different made-up departments. This is because after you have satisfied your gopher role for a few years, GLG doesn’t really have anything else to offer you. Therefore, very quickly, many of the wiser and more aspiring gophers will leave GLG to find a job that offers an actual opportunity of career progression. The gophers who remain ultimately end up as “Vice Presidents.” You’ll find many “Vice President, Financial Services” or “Vice President, Private Equity Solutions” employees. These “Vice Presidents” typically will have a degree in Philosophy, Art History, or Eastern-European Theater, with absolutely no knowledge or experience in any sort of financial services work. Furthermore, you’ll see the majority of these “Vice Presidents” have minimal (if any) work experience prior to GLG. Basically, at some point, a gopher must make a choice. Either the gopher cuts its losses and pursues a real career, or the gopher chooses complacency, and waits to become a “Vice President” of an industry they in all likelihood can’t even define. One last note on “management.” You’ll find an oddly high amount of “Vice Presidents” and other “Associates” from Vanderbilt. We used to call it the “Vanderbilt Pipeline.” There’s no way to figure out how this came to be. But it appears that the first generation of GLG gophers – who have now been working there for ~10 or so years, and have God knows what title HR came up with – who graduated from Vanderbilt with an invaluable degree in Art History or Taxidermy, were fixated on hiring graduates of Vanderbilt with degrees in majors I personally did not know existed (you paid $100,000 for an undergraduate degree in Egyptology?) and the tradition has lived on. So, there you have it. GLG does not have a management team consisting of experienced, diversified, and insightful individuals. No, they have a management team consisting of mostly Vanderbilt gophers who had no better option than to burrow into GLG and wait for HR to think of a “Vice President, ____” opportunity for them. Summary GLG isn’t all bad. They pay you a very reasonable entry-level salary. They have office locations in highly enticing locations. Most of your co-workers are still early in their careers. It’s not a bad first job, and it wasn’t an awful second job. But, before you accept the job offer, just know what you’re actually getting into. You will not be a consultant. You will not work in research. You will not acquire transferable skills to help your career progress (if you don’t believe me, look at the profiles of GLG employees on LinkedIn – nearly all of them copy and paste the company description from the website because “gopher” isn’t exactly eloquent). So there you have it. I hope whatever decision you make works out for you! Cheers.

    Weiterlesen
    GLG2019-07-23
  5. „After working for almost 6 years”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Member Solution Manager 

    Ich habe für mehr als 5 Jahre bei GLG gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    working environment was okay, many branches and good colleagues in US

    Kontras

    more restriction and less imagination and creativity

    GLG2019-10-07
  6. „Greta place to work”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Akt. Mitarbeiter - Senior Associate in Austin, TX
    Empfiehlt
    Positive Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich arbeite seit weniger als einem Jahr bei GLG als Vollzeit

    Pros

    great benefits and flexibility, unlimited PTO

    Kontras

    long onboarding process, younger management (under age of 30)

    Weiterlesen
    GLG2019-10-03
  7. „Great first job”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Associate in Austin, TX

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei GLG gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    Great training for sales and recruiting, good exposure to the business world, working on projects, and teamwork Coffee, Lunch on Tuesday

    Kontras

    Work can be monotonous, long hours, expected to work after hours

    Weiterlesen
    GLG2019-10-03
  8. Hilfreich (17)

    „A Cautionary Tale”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Senior Associate 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Befürwortet Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei GLG gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    On paper GLG is a visionary, technology-enabled learning platform led by top thinkers across industries. C-suite adopted from fortune 500 companies with real experience building amazing businesses. They do offer a free espresso bar and some food, and again on paper they offer unlimited vacation. Internal mobility is possible but difficult; I've seen colleagues move from BD to Client Solutions and vice-versa, but not without red tape and long waits. Perhaps the biggest pros are the soft skills you will develop and brand recognition GLG has with financial services & consulting firms. There's no denying that at GLG, you'll liaise with intelligent and demanding customers, and through the process you will develop strong interpersonal skills, the ability to write a compelling email, the capacity to navigate a tough phone call, the power to speak to a customer about pricing. Then, research professionals from financial firms and consulting firms do use GLG and other expert networks, so if you're pursuing a career in financial analysis or consulting, your GLG experience may help you get an interview. If that's a goal then make sure you are developing your hard analytical skills outside of work. GLG won't teach you to how to value a company, build a model, analyze an equity, conduct due diligence, etc because that's not their business. Ahead of your interview be aware that GLG's business is that of a matchmaker. They pair research professionals with consultants who can answer their questions. Those conversations are rich with information and insight, but you're not the expert, the council member is. And that's okay, just be sure you're interviewing for the right job. Salaries are competitive at the beginning of your tenure with GLG, and they level off quickly. Not enough people talk about this but GLG's 401k match along should make them a non starter. They match 3% of your contributions and cap their match at $3k at the time I'm writing this. My employer before GLG matched 5% uncapped. If you start your career at GLG and stay for the long haul then you're actively hurting your retirement. The people are bright though, so if you take the job make sure to align yourself with successful people and make connections.

    Kontras

    As you read other critical reviews here on Glassdoor - Look for GLG's responses. They'll write about how we should have spoken up sooner, how we should have raised our concerns while still at firm. What they don't understand or perhaps turn a blind eye to, is that GLG creates a culture of fear that prevents employees from speaking out. I didn't feel that I had a platform to raise concerns about colleagues or managers without fear of harsh discipline or even firing. Maybe there wouldn't have been active, explicit discipline, but what I can guarantee is that vocal employees who question the process or question management's tactics will not progress at GLG regardless of performance as an individual contributor. That's the most important thing to know about GLG. You can choose one of two paths: 1) play the game, go through the motions, don't ask questions, and advance at the company, or 2) express yourself, raise concerns, offer new points of view, and stagnate. Your manager's personal, not professional opinion of you matters more than your performance. This varies manager-to-manager, but as a rule I would be careful what you say and to whom. Managers who have lasted 2 or 3+ years at the firm have made sacrifices to get into their position. They've chosen to put their personal values aside in favor of the companies values - strict loyalty and faith in the process at the expense of others and for the benefit of GLG's private equity owners. To reiterate, company culture is the con that will affect you most. Too many GLG employees feel stuck, they feel unsupported, angry, lost, unhappy. You are thinking about joining a company where the the average employee just simply isn't happy. Management and HR are aware and say that steps are in place to make this better, but I don't think GLG employees on the front lines feel a change. Despite what I had heard in GLG's state of the union/town hall meetings, reorganizations are still common and turnover is still high, and people still have uncertainty about their clients because they're realigned so often. Every 6-9 months you should expect a new pod/team/segment leader with different management approach and interpretation of company metrics. It's a results-oriented business so I won't knock the focus on metrics and performance, but you need to know going in that you will need to grind and perform better than the average teammate if you want to do anything impactful at GLG. I would caution applicants from accepting roles at GLG given prevailing market conditions. GLG created this business in the 90s, innovated, and dominated for years. Competitors figured out the model and are now actively chipping away at GLG's market share. If you're ok managing clients whose contract value will drop year-over-year then continue with the process. If you want to win market share and grow with your employer, go to a smaller competitor. Clients will tell you that GLG falls short when it comes to speed, quality, and execution especially considering the premium price point.

    Weiterlesen
    GLG2019-09-24
  9. Hilfreich (15)

    „A Cultural Identity Crisis”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Client Solutions Manager 
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Negative Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als 3 Jahre bei GLG gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    The benefits and pay are above average for client solutions, especially considering the level of skill that is required for the job. If you are good at networking within the organization, you can find opportunities to sit in on interesting educational presentations from subject-matter experts. Mostly intelligent, good-hearted co-workers, though burnout and exhaustion with the constant pace of sometimes-meaningless change has created some toxic elements.

    Kontras

    GLG tries its hardest to give off the impression of a flexible, employee-first, start-up-esque culture but is actually a paternalistic, top-down environment. The culture can be confusing as a result because the messaging from company town halls does not line up with actual policies enacted or the day-to-day work environment. As an example, the large offices are all open office concepts with (in theory) open seating, and activity-based working was a buzzword when I first started at the company. However, in practice, you are mandated to sit in the same place every day, in close proximity to your manager, because they do not trust you to get your work done, and face time is extremely important to the point where if you leave your assigned place for more than 15 minutes, your manager will start to frantically question where you are (or, if you’re a manager yourself, even if you want to allow your team more freedom, YOUR manager will get on your case if your team isn’t by your side at all times). Unlimited vacation time was touted as a benefit when I joined the company, however in practice it’s totally at the discretion of your manager. So, if they think that an associate should only take 10 days per year, they will not approve further vacation days. There is no oversight for this from HR or senior leadership. Further, more recently the client solutions organization has begun mandating that at least one person per team is on call to work during official company holidays, i.e. days when the stock market is closed. The reward for working on a holiday? A work from home day (the company cannot reward a vacation day because employees in theory have “unlimited vacation”, though, again, in practice this is not true). As you can see, the reward systems get very wonky. Work-life balance is non-existent for the client solutions organization, as clients submit requests and have research calls at all hours, and you are expected to respond to email after normal business hours as well. In the past the company has praised client solutions professionals for behavior such as waking up at 3 AM to ensure a call with an expert in Asia occurred successfully, rather than realizing that this is the type of behavior that leads to employee disengagement and burnout. I did have some positive experiences at this organization, as detailed above, but have found that it is mostly dependent on who you happened to have assigned as your manager, which can change frequently. Over a period of 3 years I had 6 different managers, only 2 of which I felt truly were invested in my professional development. It was also very difficult to consistently pursue my long-term goals when I kept having to reset with new managers. On the subject of managers, your ability to advance in the organization is totally dependent on your manager’s personal opinion of you, even if your numbers say otherwise. In year-end reviews, I heard managers express that employees who on paper had great metrics and seemed to be high performers were actually not going to be rated above average because the manager believed “they could do more”. Anecdotally, I know of multiple instances where employees asking about what they could improve to earn a promotion were belittled or laughed at by their managers. There is definitely an element of brown-nosing to upper management that is needed to advance here, to the point where engaged employees feel they can not offer constructive feedback for fear of it impacting their career progression. At the end of my time at GLG I was very disappointed to not be offered an exit interview with HR, even though my colleagues who left at the same time did receive an exit interview. When I expressed this, a member of senior leadership did sit with me informally, which I appreciated. I hope my feedback will be taken to heart as I do still wish the best for GLG and its employees.

    Weiterlesen
    GLG2019-09-25
  10. Hilfreich (6)

    „Just for a year or two..”

    SternSternSternSternStern
    • Work-Life-Balance
    • Kultur & Werte
    • Karriere­chancen
    • Vergütung und Zusatzleistungen
    • Führungs­ebene
    Ehem. Mitarbeiter - Project Support Specialist in Austin, TX
    Empfiehlt nicht
    Positive Prognose
    Keine Meinung zum Geschäftsführer

    Ich habe für mehr als ein Jahr bei GLG gearbeitet (Vollzeit)

    Pros

    - Downtown office - Coffee bar - Unlimited PTO (But basically no holidays off.. and very inflexible schedule) - Access to Gym in the office - A lot of fun coworkers, young environment and a great place to make friends in your 20s! -Great first step to stay in for ~ 1-2 years to get comfortable in Austin then get out.. - OVER TIME PAY (god knows you'll work it! ) - Can make experience from this role relevant in other fields - Can work from home from time to time (but you are still completely glued to your computer for 8 hours at a very minimum) - Starting pay $43k, Senior associate promotion pay $48k, and make time and half for OT. Salary is actually very decent for the extremely easy, mindless work. -401k contributions -Offers insurance

    Kontras

    The Project Support Specialist or Engagement Coordinator role is not meant to be in for any longer than 2 years. After about 1 year, you've learned everything possible. There is absolutely zero room to creatively solve problems. They train a team of 25-40 to be complete robots. They want every single person to be the exact same, which is great for continuity for the users, but can be a miserable environment to work in. Additionally upper management does not receive feedback well, project support specialists bring very legitimate concerns/problems to the table, and the VP shuts them down immediately, gets extremely defensive, and makes PSS feel dumb for asking questions. They say they want to help with mobility and switching departments/roles, but it's usually too late as you have to wait 12-18months to even have that conversation. At that point most people in the project support role are burnt out. The metrics for this role are absolutely BOGUS and do not at all reflect the work/quality of the project support specialist. Granted they are just recently developing metrics for this role, but then there should not be that much weight put into it. NOTE--This role is essentially scheduler/customer support. You will work on tickets out of a queue, make phone calls, schedule calls, tick off CEO's by yanking them around and gathering availability/canceling and rescheduling on them. If you're considering other roles at GLG I would recommend applying to those over Project Support Specialist/Engagement Coordinator.

    Weiterlesen
    GLG2019-10-02
587 Bewertungen gefunden
</>Einbinden